A Bone Of Contention

Why did you do that?

I dunno.

But why?

I don’t know.

You didn’t have to do it. But you did. Why did you do it?

I didn’t do it on purpose. I didn’t know not to do it. I’m not you, there’s only so much I can guess that is right, and it’s one of those things where the longer the time that passes since the last error the more likely the next one is.

So you do know then. You seem to have pretty well developed ideas on the subject, in fact.

I didn’t think it would be a problem. I thought it was better to do something than nothing. How could I have known?

I dunno. I just expect you to exercise better judgement than this.

How? I’ve been lucky thus far, I mean up to this point …

I thought if you weren’t sure, you would do nothing. Isn’t that what I said? If you’re not sure …

Yeah, that’s true. But I’m not really sure about any of this. I could refer each of these to you and ask what I should do and how I should answer them, but I don’t. I answer the ones that seem like there’s no harm, and then I answer some more. But I’m never really sure, about any of this stuff. How could I be? It’s all guessing.

 

 

And then the name calling began, along with shouting and thrown objects.

That’s how the largest fish ball contract ever in Sydney came to nothing. It would have made the Lee family rich, and kept them that way, with their fish balls in all of the city’s Chinese restaurants, but when you get cousin Tony to answer the phone and he’s not sure if the offer’s a real offer or just one of his uncle Terry’s mates playing a game, then you have a problem, don’t you.

The caller repeatedly said this was a bona fide offer, and Tony at least three times sniggered and repeated “boner”, and said his uncle was waiting for a very important call.

Tony’s mum and dad had advised him to study Latin, but he found it boring and could see no practical point in it.

Published in: on July 11, 2011 at 8:09 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://turdenmeier.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/a-bone-of-contention/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

