Conversation

Do you know what happened?

No.

So you don’t know what happened? I find that hard to believe. Let’s go outside and look together, shall we?

OK. I mean, I sort of know, I mean …

Look. Look here. What do you think happened?

I don’t know.

But look here …

Yeah, well some tiles fell off the roof. But I don’t know how it happened. I don’t know why. I don’t know what it was that happened.

But you said you didn’t know.

I thought you were asking for an explanation.

I just asked if you knew.

And I don’t know. All I know is the result of what happened. I don’t know what happened. Like I said.

It was a pretty simple question …

Yeah, but …

And you aren’t dumb …

Well, thanks … but I thought you were asking a different question. Asking about something else. You know, account for this occurrence.

That isn’t what I said. And it’s not what I meant.

Well how was I to know? I guessed what you meant.

You could have just answered the question. It was a pretty simple question.

But I thought you were asking what is the meaning of this, and the answer is I don’t know.

But I wasn’t asking that. I just asked …

Yeah, I know. But what’s the point of your question, the simple question, which is pretty simple, the one you actually asked?

What do you mean? It was just a question.

It’s like an ancient person knowing that water sometimes falls out of the sky, but knowing nothing about precipitation, and not even knowing that it’s called rain.

No it isn’t. It’s an observation. I was asking about an observation. Not about a medieval peasant.

I didn’t say medieval …

OK. Ancient then.

Or peasant …

Fine. It was an analogy anyway. I was talking about reasoning and making sense of the world.

Well I was talking about the smashed bits of tile on the footpath and the sizeable hole in the roof.

Yeah. OK.

That’s what I was talking about.

OK …

And what we’re going to do about it.

Good question.

Got an answer?

Well, it depends how you define do …

Published in: on February 29, 2012 at 7:18 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://turdenmeier.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/conversation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

